Meeting Louise Barnes! (Blog 1)

 

Louise was really quick to get in touch with me and we arranged to meet in London at the Crew Clothing head office. I was quite nervous before the meeting but also excited to talk to her and find out how she got to where she is now. I really didn’t need to be nervous though because Louise put me at ease as soon as I met her and we chatted in her office for about an hour.

We spoke about her life and her time at Birmingham University and we talked about my goals and what I am interested in. We also spoke about what I wanted to get out of the mentoring scheme. It was so interesting to hear her opinions and talking through different ideas with her about what to do after university was really helpful.

One of the main things I want to get out of the mentor programme is to work out where I would best fit into a retail business and develop the skills that will help me with this. We spoke about the importance of a USP and she has given me a book to read that helps you understand your personality. It explains your strengths and weaknesses according to your personality type and the best ways to work on them.

When I left the meeting I felt so inspired and excited about the rest of the mentor scheme and how much I will get to learn from Louise. My next meeting with Louise will be in December and I will be spending some time in the office and also visiting some Crew shops in Reading and Oxford – I am really looking forward to it!

10974-AL-mentoring-button

 Ellen Taylor, ALMP Mentee 2015-16

Leave a Reply

