Faye Simpson, BSc Psychology

Faye Simpson

My mentor studied the same course as me just a few years before, and even did some of the same modules, so she had a real understanding of where I was coming from and could tell me what the next steps were to get into the industry. She gave me advice about grad schemes and even suggested routes she thought would suit me. She also gave me some academic advice on the modules we shared, which was extra useful.

I enjoyed hearing what life was like in a graduate job from the perspective of someone similar to my own age. It made the prospect a lot less daunting!

Initially my mentor was a little slow to reply to my emails as she is very busy, however later in the year the tables turned as my dissertation deadline approached and I started to email less frequently. As a solution, we agreed to just talk whenever we both have time rather than scheduling a regular period to talk, which suited us better. We still email and plan to stay in touch now that the scheme has ended.

I’d like to thank the Mentoring Scheme for the experience; it has been very useful!

Leave a Reply

