I Had No Idea What To Expect

Nervous, but excited I turned up at the Crew Clothing offices to meet with their CEO and my mentor, Louise Barnes. I was amazed at how quickly I was down in London to meet with her. Just a few quick emails and my train tickets were booked! I had no idea what to expect from the first meeting. It felt almost like I was going for a job interview, rather than a chat with my mentor.

We sat and talked for an hour and a half over some tasty lunch and I left feeling amazed. We talked about everything from my background, to Louise’s background, to my confusion about what to do post-university, to skill sets and USPs. It was great to begin to get to know each other. It was a lot more relaxed than I thought it would be and Louise gave me some great advice. My biggest dilemma is what to do post-university and we spoke about my different interests and she came up with some very interesting suggestions and advice based on her first impressions of a combination of my personality and skill set.

She was very ready to help me in any way she could. I’ve already organised work experience in the merchandising department and am in the process of arranging a meeting with her sister, who works in recruiting, to give me advice on interview and application techniques. Plus she advised me to get in contact with her if I was interested in a specific area, as her list of contacts would definitely come in handy.

We’re meeting again in December and I’ll go and join Louise as she’s doing a shop visit in Oxford. In the meantime, we clarified that I will think of my unique selling point – how can I differentiate myself from other candidates? And also create a matrix to narrow down what I want from a future career – money, travel, location, area of business etc. Lots to think about!

Leave a Reply

