Questions for my Mentor

My second meeting with Jane Lodge took place in the second term. At the end of first term, I had been accepted onto my first choice engineering graduate scheme. I used the advice Jane had given me on how to practice for interviews, especially using the mirror and making eye-contact with myself when giving a presentation to practice for my assessment centre. In addition her advice to do as much research on the company, including recent events, was very useful as I was asked what the company had done recently. With this the requirements for our mentorship relationship had shifted, I was confident on my initial career path and was no longer actively seeking any graduate schemes. I thought for our next meeting that we should focus more on Jane’s career path and advice on succeeding in a career path (including being a career oriented woman).    I prepared a series of questions and concerns I had for Jane for our next meeting. As it was a sunny day, this time our meeting took place outside on the grounds of Birmingham. Below are some of the questions I asked and discussed with Jane:   1.      What characteristics/skills do you have/recommend to develop? 2.      How/why would you change your career path? 3.      How do you deal with work life/personal life balance   During the meeting, Jane was very open with me and answered/discussed with me all the topics I wanted to cover. I told her about my initial plan for remaining on the graduate scheme and becoming a chartered engineer which she agreed with. I was pleased with this meeting as I was able to understand how Jane was able to have a successful career and think about how I would like to live my life once I started working. I was able to ask Jane all the questions I wanted without feeling self-conscious and feel that it is a truly valuable opportunity. We have decided to meet again in the third term and I am looking forward to further insight on what life would be like once my working career truly begins. I am pleased I decided to take part in the alumni programme as it forces you to seriously consider your future plans and what steps to take to ensure you are successful.

Leave a Reply

