Last minute advice on Assessment centres (Blog 3)

In February I was fortunate enough to have been invited to two assessment centres in one week, and so I decided that this would be a great time to get some advice from Andrew. With only about two weeks between the invitations and the actual days I emailed Andrew to ask for his help, hoping that despite the short notice he would be able to find some time for me.

Andrew and I decided that a phone call would be the easiest option for both of us and so we set a date/time. The afternoon of our phone call Andrew called early to let me know that he was running a bit late and to check if that would still be okay for me, which it was.

At the start of our phone call I explained the situation to Andrew and spoke about the different elements of a graduate assessment centre because obviously it had been a long time since he had been in that type of situation. Despite Andrew not having experienced a group exercise (as is fairly typical of graduate assessment centres) he was able to give me lots of very helpful advice about interviews (focus on the things you do best and don’t bore them with generic information about yourself) and presentations (tell them what you are going to say, say it and tell them what you’ve said).

Andrew’s advice is always really helpful as he views things through a different lens to me, due to his experiences, and is able to give me simple advice that I would never have thought of. Due to his career in career management he normally has some special ‘insider knowledge’ for me too. Andrew’s advice to me must have done the trick as I was offered a place on Nestle’s HR graduate scheme less than two hours after the assessment centre. I’m very grateful for Andrew’s help and advice and I definitely think he was part of the reason I managed to do so well at the assessment centre, although Andrew would tell you that I did it all myself, and he simply gave me a little insight into what recruiters are looking for.

10974-AL-mentoring-button

Leave a Reply

