Big decisions, Big opportunities (Blog 1)

First Meeting – October
I applied to be mentored by Mike Coupe, the commercial director of Sainsbury’s, for my final year of my business management degree after returning from my year in industry as a buyer at Halfords. Between applying for the scheme and returning for my final year, I managed to gain a graduate job, but I was still keen to discover more about a career in retail and for guidance throughout my final year.

We arranged to have our first meeting in Watford as Mike was due to complete a competitor store visit. We met at the station before going for lunch and walking around the store. It was very interesting to hear about Mike’s career with various retailers and current position at Sainsbury’s. We discussed what I wanted to gain from the programme and how he could help with this, as well as talking about my career plans and time at university. It was great to hear his opinions whilst walking around the store and to get some advice about my graduate options.

10974-mentoring-button

Leave a Reply

