Provoking Questions with Mike Coupe (Blog 1)

First Meeting – Mike Coupe

I am a final year mechanical engineering student and my mentor is Mike Coupe, currently acting as commercial director of J Sainsbury’s.

I first had the opportunity to meet Mike here at the university during the second half of autumn term, whilst Mike was visiting to deliver a lecture as part of the distinguished leader’s series. To begin with we spoke about our various backgrounds and discussed our aims for the scheme. It was also interesting to discuss the numerous changes to the university since Mike’s last visit.

I am currently deciding the direction I would like to pursue with my career, with options engineering or in a management role. Obviously it was a great opportunity to tap into Mike’s experience and get a real insight into management and retail options. I was especially interested in how Mike, as a Physics graduate, had developed a career in the retail sector.

In turn Mike asked some thought provoking questions regarding my career direction and I was left with a lot of thinking to do before our next meeting!

Leave a Reply

