THE Perfect Opportunity (Blog 1)

Hi Everyone,

My name is Natasha and I am lucky enough to be taking part in this year’s Alumni Leadership Mentoring Programme (ALMP).

I came across the opportunity whilst I was taking part in my year in industry, where I worked for Microsoft for a year. Whilst I was there I got some great first-hand experience of working in the real world and got some real clarity on how I wanted to proceed in my future career. I was looking forward to starting back at university for my final year, but I didn’t want to lose sight of my career goals I had taken so long to figure out. I also wanted to keep improving myself in order to reach those goals in the long run, so ALMP provided me with the perfect opportunity to do this.

After applying and the interview, I was ecstatic to find out that I had been selected to be mentored by my first choice, Cilla Snowball CBE.  Cilla is the Group Chairman and Group CEO of AMVBBDO, a leading communications agency.

I have so far met Cilla once in her swanky London offices, an experience I really enjoyed in itself! I was nervous about meeting such a successful leader, and someone who really does know everything there is to know when it comes to marketing and communications, but in all reality I had nothing to worry about. The first meeting was so relaxed and Cilla just wanted to learn all about me. I told her why I applied for the programme, my three top career goals and how I hoped she could guide me in achieving them. We talked openly and honestly about what I wanted to get from her, and she was supportive in telling me that her goal this year is to find me my dream job!

Every now and then I get bogged down with uni work, especially trying to write that dreaded dissertation, but also receiving what seems like never-ending rejection letters from companies I’ve applied for can really become disheartening.  However, Cilla has been great at keeping me on point and looking on wards and upwards at all times. I’m able to drop Cilla an email whenever I need to, just keeping her updated with my entire goings on, and she is always able to come back with something insightful that makes me want to work even harder.

I have my second meeting with Cilla in a few weeks’ time and I look forward to having a nice long catch up.

See you then…

Cilla Snowball

Cilla Snowball

Leave a Reply

